Agriculture continues to be the most predominant sector of this district economy, as 70 percent of the population is engaged in Agriculture and allied activities for their livelihood. The district has as an area of 1933.38 with a gross cropped area of around 1.118 lakhs Ha.. The department policy and objectives have been to ensure stability in agricultural production and to increase the agricultural production in a sustainable manner to meet the food requirement of growing population and also to meet the raw material needs of agro based industries, thereby providing employment opportunities to the rural population.

The Agriculture Department has taken up the challenge to achieve higher growth rate in agriculture by implementing several development schemes and propagating of relevant technologies to step up the production. National Agriculture Development Programme, Seed Village Scheme , National Mission On Oilseeds and Oilpalm , National Food Security Mission , Tamil Nadu Cotton Cultivation Mission, National Mission On Sustainable Agriculture, Soil Health Card Mission, Soil health improvement through Bio-fertiliser including Green Manuring, adoption of Integrated Nutrient Management (INM) and Integrated Pest Management (IPM) technologies are given priority through various programmes, besides crop diversification to fetch better return and value addition to agricultural produce which inturn improve the economic status of the farming community.

The Ariyalur District has a Geographical area of 1,93,338 Hectares. Of which the net area cropped is 1,11,874 Hectares. Out of which about 45136 Ha are irrigated and about 66,738 Ha are rainfed. The River Cauvery tributary irrigates about 10,389 Ha. in Thirumanur, T.Palur and Jayankondam Block. The normal annual rainfall is 954 mm. Multi various crops are grown in this District and Agriculture is the main occupation for most of the people in the District.


To function as an advisory to the farmers in their day to day agricultural activities, supply of quality seeds, monitoring and making available quality chemical fertilizers, bio fertilizers, bio pesticides besides making available the latest technologies from research institutions with a view to increase the food production and raw material production to cater to the growing needs of the food for the population and raw materials for the industries.


  1. To sustain the Agricultural cropping Area.
  2. To increase the Production and Productivity
  3. Double the production and triple the income of the farming community.

Department Formation

Separate District Joint Director of Agricultural office was established on 01.07.2012 onwards. as per the G.O.Ms.No.74 Agriculture Department.Dated:26.04.2012.

Topology & Agro Climatic Characteristics


The Average annual rainfall is 954 mm. This district receives rainfall in all season. But major rainfall received in North East Monsoon only.

Agro climatic zone

Tamilnadu divided into major seven major Agro climatic zone. Ariyalur district comes under Zone No : V viz., Cauvery Delta Zone (CDZ). Temperature ranges from Maximum of 38℃ and Minimum of 24℃.


Land of Limestone Ferruginous red loam occurs in Ariyalur district. The texture is usually loamy, the colour varying from red at the surface to yellow at the lower horizon. The soils are of medium depth with good drainage, free from accumulation of salt and calcium carbonate, pH ranging from 6.5 to 8.0 and contain low amounts of organic matter, nitrogen and phosphorus but with generally adequate amounts of potash and lime.

Red loam soil is found to be prevalent in Sendurai, T.Palur, Andimadam, Jeyankondam blocks of Ariyalur District. Block soil is found in Thirumanur and Ariyalur blocks of the district.

Irrigation Sources

Canal, tank, tube well and open well are the main sources of irrigation in this district. Tube wells / bore wells contribute the major area of irrigation.

Canal Irrigation:

This district comes under Delta District status. 41 Revenue Villages of the blocks come under Delta Area. Three canal system irrigates Paddy and sugarcane crops in Thirumanur, T.Palur and Jayankondam Blocks of the district.

Pullambadi Canal:

Origin of this canal is Mukkombu. This canal length is 36 Km and it connects 5 system tanks. Normally this canal opens is August first date, when the Mettur Dam reaches 90 Feet Water Level. This canal irrigates 6000 ha of land in Thirumanur Block.


Origin of this canal is Nathamangudi village of Lalgudi block. This canal length is 14 Km and It’s drainage canal receive water from drains of Peruvalai and Pullambadi canal. This canal irrigates 2000 ha of land in Thirumanur Block.


Origin of this canal is Kuruvadi Village of Coleroon river of Thirumanur . This canal length is 36 Km and it connects 5 system tanks. This canal irrigates 1877 ha of land in T.Palur Block.


Origin of this canal is Lower Anaicut Village of Coleroon river of T.Palur . This canal length is 36 Km. This canal irrigates 463 ha of land in Jeyankondam Block.

Major Agricultural Crops.

Paddy, Maize, Cotton, Ground nut and sugarcane crops are cultivated in this district. Total normal area is 76400 ha.

District Level Organization Setup

District Level Organization Setup

Joint Director of Agriculture is the overall monitoring, supervising and executing authority of all schemes operated under Agriculture department. He is also liaison officer of Allied Department of Agriculture.

Block Level Organization Setup

Block Level Organization Setup

In Ariyalur district, six Agricultural Extension Centre (AEC) are located at block level. Each AEC is headed by Assistant Director of Agriculture. All the schemes are implemented from block level. In Block Level, Agricultural officer and Deputy Agricultural officer is working under Assistant Director of Agriculture. Each officer equally shares the scheme works. The Agricultural officer monitors the three Assistant Agricultural officers and The Deputy Agricultural officer monitors two Assistant Agricultural officers. The Assistant Seed Officer raises the seed farm for the seed requirement of Block in Paddy, Pulses and oilseed crops. Depot manager sells the seed and other inputs to the farmers.

Offcials to be contacted:

Block Level contacts:
S.No Block Office Contact Number email Address
1 Assistant Director of Agriculture, O/o Assistant Director of Agriculture, Jayankondam Road, Walajanagaram, Ariyalur.-621704 7010670907 adaariyalur@gmail[dot]com
2 Assistant Director of Agriculture, O/o Assistant Director of Agriculture, Integrated Agriculture Extension Centre, Keelapalur, Thirumanur Block, Ariyalur-Dt. 8072890022 adatmr@gmail[dot]com
3 Assistant Director of Agriculture, O/o Assistant Director of Agriculture, Panchayat union office complex, Sendurai, Ariyalur-Dt. 9047249004 adasend@gmail[dot]com
4 Assistant Director of Agriculture, O/o Assistant Director of Agriculture, Integrated Agriculture Extension Centre, T.Valavettikuppam, Jayankondam Block, Ariyalur-Dt. 9750890874 adajkm@gmail[dot]com
5 Assistant Director of Agriculture, O/o Assistant Director of Agriculture, Integrated Agriculture Extension Centre, Vilandhai(S), Andimadam Block, Ariyalur-Dt 9842692807 adaandimadam@gmail[dot]com
6 Assistant Director of Agriculture, O/o Assistant Director of Agriculture, Panchayat union office complex, T.Palur Block, Ariyalur-Dt. 9443092411 adatpl@gmail[dot]com

Contacts Detail:

Joint Director of Agriculture,
O/o Joint director of agriculture,
232, II Floor, Ariyalur Collectorate Complex.
Jayankondam Road,

Phone : 04329-228056
Email : jdaariyalur@gmail[dot]com